Children Tagging their Learning

I have worked with Tom Barrett in one capacity or another for a few years now, as our paths have crossed and we have collaborated over our belief in the importance of truly personalised learning. So when I took up post at Rosendale School in South London, I was keen to make use of Tom’s skills in taking the school to a new level of understanding about the ways in which New Technologies could support learning. Specifically, I was keen to find some way for children to gather together evidence to substantiate the progress they were making in their learning. It had always seemed to me that schools had missed the point of formative assessment as described by Dylan Wiliam and had put in place assessment for learning procedures that were still too ‘teacher heavy’. Added to which, friends in the corporate world seemed to have understood the paperless office in a way that shames those of us leading learning with young people, where we still used post-it / print&cut&stick exemplars of evidence gathering. Surely, I thought, we must be able to use a system such as Evernote to support teachers and children in gathering evidence. And if we did, then gathering that data across the school, in all subjects, might yield further insights in to the kind of learning and progress happening in the school. Thus the stage was set for working on this idea and Tom Barrett of NoTosh led us very ably through the stages of the project. In the video below, he describes the aims, principles, issues and opportunities of the project as it unfolded.

4 thoughts on “Children Tagging their Learning

  1. Just incredible. At the forefront of teaching and learning, but then also so “of course, why hasn’t anyone else thought of this. This is what we should all be doing.” I hope you keep updating the blog with news of how this is coming along. I haven’t watched the next video, but I’d interested in seeing how this works with Key Stage One.

    • I definitely think this should be the way forward and something that should work well at any age.

      Continual formative assessment was an approach I took with my KS 1 class some time ago (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vmTjb-JFSoI). I spent almost a decade developing a system that teachers could use to capture evidence of learning and link it to objectives across the curriculum.

      Unfortunately the system I invented is no longer live, however I learnt a great deal through it’s development. One key aspect was that it should not have been designed for one teacher to upload and assess 33 pieces of work but 33 individuals that should upload their own work and reflect on their learning and consider where to go next.

      I am passionate about pupils taking ownership of their learning and the frameworks which could allow this to happen. I would be keen to discuss the subject with others wishing to develop this approach further.

      Further information about the system I was developing can be seen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_c_gqxdOR4

  2. Great video. I’m also intrigued how this sort of metadata can create an intelligence we can tap into to understand the learning and heartbeat of a school.

    I’m curious as to why the grades all used a single account rather than individual accounts that used a shared workbook? Budget, or something I’m missing?

    Thanks for the post

Leave a Reply

